Tuesday, October 28, 2008

AG Recognizes Department Paralegals

A plethora of paralegals were honored by Attorney General Michael B. Mukasey at the 56th Annual Attorney General Awards Ceremony.

The prosecution team that obtained a conviction in United States v. Seale, including Connie Lee, Paralegal Specialist, received the Attorney General's Award for Exceptional Service.

The Attorney General's Award for Distinguished Service is the Department's second highest award for employee performance. The recipients of this award exemplify the highest commitment to the Department's mission. Stephen J. Foster, Paralegal Specialist, from the Environment and Natural Resources Division, Environmental Crimes Section of the Department of Justice, was a recipient, as was Samantha E. Ward, Paralegal Specialist, U.S. Attorney's Office for the Eastern District of New York. Paralegal Specialist Theresa L. Kneser from the Criminal Section of the Civil Rights Division of the Department of Justice, Sareta Magee Taylor, Paralegal Specialist from the U.S. Attorney's Office for the Central District of California were also recipients.

The Attorney General's Award for Excellence in Legal Support recognizes outstanding achievements in the field of legal support to attorneys by paralegal specialists and other legal assistants. The recipients were, from the Executive Office for U.S. Trustees, Tina L. Oppelt, Paralegal Specialist, Office of the U.S. Trustee, Newark, N.J.; from the USMS, John A. Patterson, Torts Claims Administrator, Office of General Counsel; from the U.S. Attorney's Office for the District of Oregon, Karen L. Klever, Forfeiture Paralegal Specialist and Gerri L. Badden, Victim Witness Specialist; from FBI Portland, Ore. Division, Cindy M. Dugan Forfeiture Paralegal Specialist; from the Research and Publications Section, Office of the Solicitor General, Candy P. Lubin, Technical Editor; Paralegal Specialists Susan D. Ross, James K. Davis and Michele M. Klatka.

The Attorney General's Award for Outstanding Service in Freedom of Information Act Administration recognizes exceptional dedication and effort to the implementation of the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). This year's paralegal recipients, from the Office of Legal Counsel, were Paralegal Specialists Tsedey C. Berhanu, Bernsteine B. Garrett, and Richard A. Hughes.

(Source: MarketWatch

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.